Procrastination In Its Finest

Cover

I have been saying this every week “I’m going to start a food blog; I’m going to write in my food blog, food blog food blog. . . . .” Whelp. Hello. I have a passion for cooking, cleaning, Guys show Dinners, Drive In’s and Dives and Sean. In a way I want to completely start over. I may, I may wipe clean most of my old posts, maybe save them in my computer somewhere to get dusty, full of cob webs and start a fresh new slate. I think I will. There is something completely satisfying sitting down at the kitchen table with family and friends and watching them take the first bite of the recipe you just whipped up. Recently my kitchen adventures have been complete failures; I have ruined everything I tried to make. When I say everything, I mean everything. However, this past weekend I think I broke through that lull.

Sean and I took one of our recent trips to the mall to do our exchanging of wrong size presents and catch all the after Christmas deals. As usual, we did our normal circle go through our favorite shops and hit the café for Starbucks Coffee and Hot Coco. We always get the same wraps from the food court; I think it’s the only healthy thing there to eat and I can’t even name it! Sean always orders it and I scout for a table. This time we walked through the book store to see what they had going on and you will never guess what we found! Deals on cook books, I think I died. Half off cook books, 60% off and they were all the ones with the amazing recipes! I instantly melted and Sean of course ushered me towards them where I believe I got lost. After spending twenty minutes simply staring in awe, I finally picked out two books that I could not resist owning. The first one was The Complete Irish Pub Cookbook which I shall be posting my first recipe from it here. The second one was A Year Full of Recipes which as you can gather is 366 recipes (one extra for a leap year). I think I have spent the entire weekend reading through them, gawking at the recipes trying to memorize every single one.

As I have said I have got my mojo back in the kitchen! While my kitchen is not the “perfect” kitchen I desire I make do with everything I have. One day I will have that ideal kitchen with all those gadgets to use! I have told Sean a thousand times that our kitchen will be my domain! He can have the rest of the apartment to do with as he pleases. Those cook books are my first official purchase towards that dream. As the New Year sets in and school begins again hopefully I can begin to save up again for that dream and start gathering those gadgets. That is my plan! It’s always good to have a plan and I like it.

My first recipe I attempted was Smoked Cod Chowder. I have to say it was so delicious!! I am not normally a fan of fish but being determined to cook my way through some cook books I was determined to make everything! This is an easy and fast recipe for any night especially those cold ones. With regards to the vegetables, make sure you chop the potatoes into small cubes because it will help them to cook faster. The first time I made this I cut them into different sizes and it added about 15 minutes to the cooking process! Also, while the recipe said it servers 4 I found that it only was enough for 3 hearty dishes so double this if you would like left overs!

step by step

Smoked Cod Chowder:

Serves 4

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons salted butter

1 Onion, finely chopped

1 Small celery stalk, finely diced

2 Potato’s, diced

1 small carrot, diced

1 ¼ cups boiling water

12 ounces smoked cod fillets skinned and cut into bite-size piece

1 ¼ cups whole milk

Salt and pepper

Fresh flat leaf parsley springs, to garnish

Directions:

  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over low heat; add the onion and celery, and cook, stirring frequently, for 5 minutes, or until soft but not brown.
  2. Add the potatoes, carrots, water and salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes or until the vegetables are tender. Add the fish to the chowder and cook for an additional 10 minutes.
  3. Pour in the milk and heat gently. Taste and adjust the seasoning adding salt and pepper if necessary. Ladle into warm bowls and serve garnished with parsley springs.
5 thoughts on “Procrastination In Its Finest

  1. I love that your blog has a main focus of cooking but gives this eclectic feel that connects the reader to your authenticity. I have some awesome cookbooks I have collected over the years. I use to sell used books… cooking is not a thing I do well. I will have to glance through some titles. I have one from 1914 I think you would enjoy if I can find it. Happy New Year.

    • Cooking was not something I always did well either! But once you follow a recipe, like from start to finish and do everything exactly how it tells you it usually comes out really good! The trick for me is to read the entire recipe before I even start cooking, this way there are no surprises! I think that book your talking about sounds awesome! I love old recipes, especially reading them. Thanks for visiting my blog I will be sure to stop by yours! Have a happy New Year!! P.S. Don’t be afraid to try a recipe! Even if it is a total failure, you still tried it and should always have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

